Yoga for the Chakras

Updated: Oct 13, 2019

The word Chakra means "Wheel of Light" Our wheels of light are our Wheels of Life. Each Chakra is shaped like a Vortex. Chakras spin in a circle either clock wise or counter clock wise attracting or repelling energies. Anything the chakra feels on a vibrational level gets pulled in, processed and passed out again.

We each have seven major chakras that hold emotion and meaning. The seven chakras include:

First Chakra or Root Chakra

represents family and security. "To Have" and is the Earth Element. The root chakra is at the base of your spine. The emotions associated with this chakra are your feelings around your home, personal security, safety and sense of belonging. The first chakra is the color red and the element is Earth. To increase the health of this chakra eat root foods such as red fruits and vegetables: Radishes, Beets, Protein such as meats and tofu, Potatoes, Carrots, Eggs and Peanut Butter. YOGA POSE: Tree

Second Chakra or Sacral Chakra

represents willpower and determination. Your sexuality and sensuality. The second chakra is located at your belly button. "To Feel" This chakra is also associated with your relationships to others such as friends, your social network, work and how you interact with others as well as your emotions and creativity. The color of this chakra is Orange and the element is Water. To increase the health of this chakra eat sweet fruits such as oranges, peaches and nectarines, berries, watermelon, mangoes, orange peppers, honey and nuts. Drink plenty of clean water. YOGA POSE: Upward Dog

Third Chakra is our Navel or Solar Plexus Chakra

This chakra represents Self esteem. "To Act" This chakra has an emotional charge on how you feel about yourself such as your self confidence, self motivation, Ego and how you project yourself to others. The color is this chakra is Yellow and the element is Fire. To increase the health of this chakra eat foods such as grain cereals, rice, flax seeds, sunflower seeds, ginger, dairy, turmeric, chamomile and funnel. YOGA POSE: Bow

Fourth Chakra is our Heart Chakra

This Chakra is all about Love. Self Love and love for others. "To Accept" This chakra can hold heart ache and heart wounds. It can also open up unconditional self love and understanding for yourself and others. The color of this chakra is Pink and or Green and the element is Air. To increase the health of this chakra eat foods such as green leafy vegetables, kale, dandelion greens and tea, broccoli, cabbage, and celery. YOGA POSE: Camel

Fifth Chakra is the Throat Chakra

which represents communication. "To Express" The throat chakra will hold the words that have not been spoken (that may need to be) and when clear will ensure that all words are being released. Always speak your truth. The color of this chakra is blue and the element is sound. To increase the health of your communication chakra make sure that your throat is quenched with liquids such as herbal te